California SB2 Signed Into Law New $75 Fee Increase On Certain Document RecordingsDecember 07, 2017 State Update
California Senate Bill 2 was signed into law by Governor Jerry Brown on September 29, 2017 and will take effect January 1, 2018. It creates a $75 fee on certain real estate transaction documents when they are recorded, capped at $225 per transaction. The fee does not apply to sales of residential and commercial properties but instead to other transactions like mortgage refinancing and county fixture filings.
You can download a copy of the California SB2 public notice here.
If you have questions, contact FCS to learn how we can help you record your real estate transaction documents in California, and nationwide.