State News Update – California, New Hampshire, New Jersey
February 15, 2018
Here are a few state news updates below.
California—Effects of Senate Bill 2 continue to evolve at the County level in California. When it went into effect on Jan 1, 2018, most Counties accepted that the majority of the documents recorded in the Bulk Sale process were exempt from the new SB2 fees being charged. Alameda, San Luis Obispo and Riverside took a different position, and the $75 per title fee was charged on many of the Bulk…READ MORE
Delaware Secretary Of State Closed 1/4/2018 Due To Inclement Weather
January 04, 2018
Due to inclement weather, the State of Delaware, Division of Corporations office and State of Delaware offices in all three counties (Kent, New Castle and Sussex) will be closed Thursday, January 4, 2018. The state has informed that an extraordinary event will be logged in their system allowing file dates on the day the State is closed in accordance with 8 DEL.C.§103(I)(1) and related sections under 6 DEL.C.
If you have further questions,…READ MORE
California Secretary Of State Releases 2018 State Holiday Closure Schedule
December 11, 2017
The California Secretary of State has released its holiday closure schedule for 2018. See state closure dates below for planning purposes.
2017 State Holiday Schedule (Remaining)
Monday, December 25 - Christmas Day
2018 State Holiday Schedule
Monday, January 1 – New Year’s Day
Monday, January 15 – Martin Luther King Jr. Day
Monday, February 19 – President’s Day
Friday, March 30 - Cesar Chavez Day (Observed)
California SB2 Signed Into Law New $75 Fee Increase On Certain Document Recordings
December 07, 2017
California Senate Bill 2 was signed into law by Governor Jerry Brown on September 29, 2017 and will take effect January 1, 2018. It creates a $75 fee on certain real estate transaction documents when they are recorded, capped at $225 per transaction. The fee does not apply to sales of residential and commercial properties but instead to other transactions like mortgage refinancing and county fixture filings.
You can download a copy…READ MORE
Important Notice: Washington Secretary Of State
November 16, 2017
The Washington Secretary of State launched its new Corporations and Charities Filing System on Monday, November 13th.
Along with many services migrating to the new system, please note the State also changed procedures for issuing corporate filing dates. The current filing system issues the date of submission as the ‘filed’ date for all corporate documents; the new system will use the document completion date within the system as…READ MORE
Holiday Schedule for the Delaware Secretary of State
November 02, 2017
Below is the holiday schedule direct from the Delaware Secretary of State for the remainder of the year and the start of 2018. The DE SOS’ global filing service is in effect if file dates are required for the days the Division will be closed.
Friday, November 10, 2017
State Holiday – Veterans Day (observed) – The Division of Corporations will be closed.**
Wednesday, November 22, 2017
There will be no change in the…READ MORE
Business Entity Legislation From The State Of Washington
July 25, 2017
The state of Washington (Laws of 2017) has enacted the following Business Entity legislation, effective July 23, 2017:
Senate Bill 5011 - Business Corporation Act Amendments
Authorizes ratification of defective corporate acts, including over-issuances of stock, with a related required filing of an Articles of Validation if the defective act that is validated required a filing to be made
Authorizes parent/subsidiary mergers with…READ MORE
Delaware To Increase UCC XML Fee, Maximum Tax For Corporations Increased
July 18, 2017
There are two items to report out of the Secretary of State of Delaware.
First, the fee for a UCC XML filing is increasing from $30 to $50 effective 8/1/2017. The current fee options for UCC XML filings are below, taken from the Delaware SOS site.
UCC-1 and UCC-3
$100.00 (1-4 page document) submitted through Authorized UCC Filer
$100.00 plus $2.00 per page in excess of 4 pages submitted through Authorized UCC Filer
Reminder: Due June 1, 2017 – Delaware LLC/LP Franchise Tax Payment
May 22, 2017
Every June 1st all Delaware LLC/LP’s registered to do business are required to pay their $300 annual Franchise Taxes with the Secretary of State’s office for the 2016 calendar year.
Failure to make this payment by the end of business June 1 will result in a $200 penalty the very next day as well as interest accruing at 1.5% monthly until payment is made. If non-payment persists, the Secretary of State will revoke your entity causing…READ MORE
New “Re-Recording” Law To Take Effect In California January 1, 2017
December 28, 2016
The new law, AB 1974, is effective January 01, 2017 and regards "Re-Recording" a Document in the state of California.
AB 1974- This bill establishes requirements for standardization in the re-recording of documents.
Re-recorded documents must be executed and acknowledged or verified as new documents, unless otherwise exempted as follows:
Document is exempt under Government Code Section 27287.
The instrument, paper…READ MORE